Surprise – Retired people still have sex

I can’t believe this is news. I wasn’t going to write about it, but it seems like everywhere I look there is an article about the study published in the New England Journal of Medicine that found people to be sexually active well into their 60’s and 70’s. I guess I just have a different perspective as a medical student, but I am well aware that people do not become asexual beings once they hit 65. There isn’t some magic switch that flips to “off” once you start collecting social security or qualify for Medicare. Does anyone else think it’s weird that this is news? Maybe I’m the weird one for not being surprised.

NYTimes – “Many Found Sexually Active Into the 70s

Reuters – “Seniors want sex – and they get it, study finds

AP – “Survey: Seniors Have Sex Into 70s, 80s

CNN – “Study: Seniors having more sex than you think

2 Comments

  1. Jamelle said,

    August 23, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    I think that people are just a little weirded out by the fact, and so that’s why it’s news.

  2. Lily said,

    August 24, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I suppose that’s a big part of it – no one generally likes to think of their parents (or grandparents) having sex.


Leave a Reply

